Grace’s guest blog about jet lag

Jet lag is not a joke. I thought I had the perfect plan to beat jet lag. I planned on getting as much sleep as possible during the 24 hours of travel, up until our first morning in Trivandrum. That way, I would wake up Friday morning ready to stay up for at least 12 hours. I slept most of the first flight, probably 10 out of the total 13 hours; I even slept on the second plane. When we arrived at the hotel, I went to sleep for 90 minutes and woke up at 8 am feeling really good. I thought I had beat jet lag. I don’t think I could have been more wrong.

 

It hit me a little after noon; I had already walked 11,000 steps and I was exhausted. Not even food or water helped. My brain felt dead and I was in zombie mode. I took a two hour nap and still fell asleep at 8pm, fully dressed with my shoes and the lights still on.

 

The next morning was even worse. I was wide awake at 6 in the morning, but that definitely did not mean my mind was functioning clearly. I brushed my teeth twice because I forgot I had already done so. I shattered a glass at breakfast and was dropping my food on the floor. In general, I felt as though I had no control over my body.

 

Jet lag is more than just being tired during the day and waking up at odd hours of the night. It is doing and saying things you normally would never do. It is a thick fog over your brain that makes directions so hard to understand. Jet lag is real and I sure hope it ends soon.2016-12-29-05-22-29

One thought on “Grace’s guest blog about jet lag

  1. Grace, I am so proud of you for taking this journey! Your writing is amazing for such a young person and it was so much fun to read. I read it to Kevin without telling them who wrote it and then made him guess. He guessed Shonduras and then President Obama. Wish I could take credit for one year of teaching you! You are already much braver than I ever was ❤️Stay safe!!!

Leave a Reply

